The Association of Former International Civil Servants (AFICS) — which unites a unique group of Sri Lankans, who have served in the UN, UN specialised agencies and Bretton Woods institutions – has passed a resolution supporting Jayantha Dhanapala to the post of UN Secretary-General.

The resolution, adopted at AFICS annual general meeting last month, will be communicated to the association’s branches worldwide and to all Sri Lankans working in the UN, UN affiliated agencies, the Bretton Woods institutions and the Commonwealth.

"Jayantha Dhanapala… is an active member of our association and, in our opinion, eminently suitable for this prestigious post," a press release from AFICS said yesterday.

The association also elected its office bearers for 2006. Dr Nihal Abeyesundere (WHO) was voted to the post of president; Dr Vernon Mendis (UNESCO) and Dr Douglas Nethsinghe (IAEA) to the posts of vice presidents; Dr Adrian Senadhira (WHO) to the post of secretary-general; and Vincent Kumarapeli (UNV/UNDP) to the slot of treasurer and editor. Committee members are Earle Samarasinghe (UNESCO), Lalit Godamunne (WFP), Vijita de Silva (APD/APDC), Ranjith Seneviratne (FAO), Dr Neville Edirisinghe (WFP) and Dr Panduka Wijeyaratne (WHO/UNEP).